Our Curriculum

Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them. At Roundabouts we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) (2012) which focuses on children from birth until they are 5 years of age.

The EYFS is based on four themes and the principles which inform them.

Themes A Unique Child Positive Relationships Enabling Environments Learning and Development
Principles Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships. Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers. Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Development is not an automatic process, however it depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments.

The EYFS focuses on seven areas of development:

3 prime areas:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

4 specific areas:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.